I Want To Learn To Swordfight

One of the things I have always wanted to do, yet never had the opporutunity to learn, is learn swordfighting.

I do not mean fencing (I was, after all, Trinity’s inaugural Captain of Fencing, and have had some experience with it; but it is too sterile for my liking). Nor do I mean simply some form of historical re-enactment whereby you dress up in funny clothes and pretend you’re a warrior.

No, I just want to learn how to fight with a sword. There is just something noble about it; it is a tradition that has gone back millennia, imbued with ancient creeds of honour. It is an art that has been practiced by almost all the greats throughout history, and I wish to be able to follow in their shoes. And this is not to mention the great beauty that a good swordfight entails.

I have always been a believer that there is a ‘checklist’ of skills that any man must be able to do. Swordsmanship is defiantly on the list, and one that hopefully, sometime in the future, I shall be able to learn.

3 Responses to “I Want To Learn To Swordfight”

  1. Ben Says:

    Hilarious. You would love Japan Tim.

  2. Tim Andrews Says:

    I was actually looking at buying a book on the crafting of Japanese swords the other day, but the fiscal conservatism in me prevented me from buying it…

  3. Ben Says:

    Now I’m in tears. What’s the title? I worked in Japan and they are obsessed with swords and sharp knives.

Leave a Reply

