Tim on Torture

Since torture again seems to be the topic du jure, and people have the annoying tendency to ask me for my thoughts on the matter, I thought I’d settle the matter of my opinion once and for all:

1)Torture ought be illegal with no exceptions. Any agent of government who engages in acts of torture – for whatever reason – ought to be persecuted to the fullest extent of the law, and locked up for a very long time. No exceptions.

2)Any intelligence agency that does not recognise the critical need to occasionally go completely Jack Bauer on someone’s ass  fundamentally betrays the people it is meant to protect, and is an utter disgrace.

In sum: of course it’s bloody well necessary at times, I just don’t want to know about it.

There. Hope that clears it all up.

3 Responses to “Tim on Torture”

  1. Tinos Says:

    I disagree with the first point. If I tortured you then I think an acceptable punishment would be me being tortured.

    I don’t think it’s wrong to torture someone who’s obviously part of a terrorist plot. I think the person responsible should have to justify their actions later though (so it’s risky).

  2. Jake the Muss Says:

    Any intelligence agency that doesn’t already know that torture is useless for the purposes of obtaining accurate information has already failed its duty to the people Tim.

    TV does not equal real life. Please don’t head up ASIS.

  3. Glynn Says:

    I’m afraid Jake’s correct, torture is useless.

Leave a Reply

