Blog Moderation

Thank you to everyone for your input on blog moderation. After careful consideration, I have decided that I will delete comments I deem inappropriate, however, posts shall remain un-moderated prior to posting.

I do not believe this violates freedom of speech. People are still permitted to air their views if they want – on their blog. My blog however, is my private property, and I will not have it used as a forum for promoting obscene comments or making personal attacks.

It is also well-documented that there has been a concerted effort by the left in recent months to publish offensive comments on right-leaning blogs, and then attack the blog for their own comments. I do not intend to give them this opportunity.

I shall set no firm rules, instead using the reasoning of Jacobellis v. Ohio: “I shall not today attempt further to define the kinds of material I understand to be embraced within that shorthand description; and perhaps I could never succeed in intelligibly doing so. But I know it when I see it.”

So. If you make constructive comments, if you engage in robust debate, and even if you criticise me – all fine. But if you wish to vilify, engage in obsence personal attacks, or behaviour in a manner that I have no wish to be associated with, your comments will be deleted.

You have been warned! 🙂

7 Responses to “Blog Moderation”

  1. Iain Hall Says:

    The reality is that your blog, like all others is NOT public property ,it is more analogous to your home than a public square, so when it comes down to the crunch you have the right to accept or reject any comment entirely as you please.
    At my own blog I take full advantage of the fact that WordPress gives all of its users two levels of control of the comments. You can put a troublesome commentator into permanent moderation or ban them outright.
    generally you don’t want the dickheads or the Plonkers anyway so be tough and you will be respected for it by those who matter and who cares what the annoying idiots think?

  2. Alex Howen Says:

    Perfectly fair. Good decision.

    May there now be less concentration on form and more on content.

  3. Jeremy Says:

    “It is also well-documented that there has been a concerted effort by the left in recent months to publish offensive comments on right-leaning blogs, and then attack the blog for their own comments. I do not intend to give them this opportunity.”

    It is? Where?

  4. Robert Candelori Says:

    TIm, learn to spell.

    “obsence”? I think you mean “obscene”. 🙂

  5. Tim Andrews Says:

    Fair point. I should have provided links – will do so when I have a minute.
    Also, in hindsight, I should have said “some in the left” – obviously don’t mean to imply this is some great conspiracy that a particularly high number of people are involved in – just that there are some elements who have chosen to do this.

  6. Jeremy Says:

    I’ll be interested to see it. I saw some drivel from various News Ltd polemicists when Pure Poison launched and had a look at some of the nastiness in their comment threads, where the polemicists in question turned around and accused PP of having “planted” them. I wonder if this entirely fictional attack was what you were remembering?

  7. Blog Moderation « The musings of an Australian classical liberal in Washington DC Says:

    […] By Tim Andrews Pursuant to my post earlier this year on blog moderation, I just want to let it be known that if you consistently decide to spam the same message to every […]

Leave a Reply

